Nasal congestion

Share this
nasal_congestion.png

Nasal congestion or "stuffy nose" occurs when nasal tissues and blood vessels become swollen with excess fluid. It can be caused by a cold, influenza virus, allergies to such things as dust, pollen or pet dander, or as a response to irritants such as tobacco smoke. Some people have a persistent congested nose for no evident reason, a condition known as non-allergic rhinitis. Nasal discharge or "runny nose" sometimes accompanies nasal congestion.

In some cases ignoring symptoms such as congestion, sneezing, runny nose, or thick nasal discharge may, aggravate upper respiratory tract conditions or lead to other problems such as reduction of the sense of smell and taste, increasing the risk of mouth and throat infections or worsening of asthma.


Common Cold

The medical term for common cold is a viral upper respiratory tract infection. More than 200 different types of viruses are known to cause the common cold. The virus enters your body through your mouth or nose, and spreads through very small, air droplets that are released when you sneeze, cough, or blow your nose. It can also spread by hand-to-hand contact or by using shared objects, such as towels, toys or telephones.

Because so many different viruses can cause a cold and because new cold viruses constantly develop, the body never builds up resistance against all of them. Therefore, colds are a frequent and recurring problem. In fact, small children can have 6 to 12 colds per year while adolescents and adults typically have 2 to 4 colds per year. Frequency is increased during the fall and winter months.

Symptoms

While most individuals will feel better within one week, symptoms of the common cold, which may include cough, sore throat, nasal congestion, runny nose, and sneezing, will typically last anywhere from 4 to 14 days.

Complications

  • A frequent complication in children is middle ear infection (otitis media) which occurs when bacteria or viruses infiltrate the space behind the eardrum. 
  • A cold can trigger wheezing in children with asthma.
  • In adults or children, when a common cold doesn't resolve, it may lead to sinusitis, an inflammation and infection of the sinuses.
  • Other secondary infections can occur including strep throat (streptococcal pharyngitis), pneumonia, bronchitis in adults, and croup or bronchiolitis in children.

Treatment/Prevention

The most important measure to prevent the common cold is to avoid infected individuals. Frequent hand washing is also extremely important, as this can destroy viruses acquired from touching contaminated surfaces.

There's no cure for the common cold. Home treatment for the common cold includes getting rest and drinking plenty of fluids. For short-term relief of nasal congestion in older children and adults, nasal decongestants can be used. Nasal decongestants are chemicals (for example, pseudoephedrine, oxymetazoline, etc.) that narrow the blood vessels in the nose, thereby preventing fluid from leaking and the lining from swelling. As a result, the lining shrinks and the nasal passages open. Nasal decongestants can be used topically within the nose (e.g nasal spray) or can be taken orally (e.g tablets).


Allergic Rhinitis

Allergic rhinitis is a common medical problem. It may interfere with day-to-day activities or lessen the quality of life. Unlike a cold, allergic rhinitis  isn't caused by a virus.  It is caused by an allergic response to outdoor or indoor allergens, such as pollen, dust mites or pet dander. There are two different types of allergic rhinitis:

  • Seasonal when symptoms start or worsen at a particular time of year and are triggered by tree pollen, grasses or weeds, which all bloom at different times (commonly known as hay fever). 
  • Perennial when symptoms are present year-round. This is generally caused by sensitivity to house dust mites, animal dander, cockroaches and/or mold spores.

Treatment / Prevention

Rhinitis is a term describing the symptoms produced by nasal irritation or inflammation. The symptoms include runny and itchy nose, sneezing and stuffy nose due to congestion. The eyes may also water, sometimes profusely, and itch. These symptoms occur when you breathe in something you are allergic to.

The amount of pollen in the air can affect the development of symptoms. On cool, damp, rainy days most pollen is washed to the ground. Hot, dry, windy days are more likely to have increased amounts of pollen in the air.

Complications

Allergic rhinitis may be associated with problems including: 

  • Reduced quality of life. It can interfere with your enjoyment of activities and cause you to be less productive. It might even lead to absences from work or school.
  • Poor sleep. 
  • Aggravation of signs and symptoms of asthma, such as coughing and wheezing.
  • Sinusitis due to prolonged sinus congestion.
  • Middle ear infection in children (otitis media).

Symptom Relief

The best way to relieve your allergy symptoms is to avoid the allergens that cause them.  It may be impossible to completely avoid all triggers, but you can reduce symptoms by taking some steps to limit exposure to them:

  • Vacuum carpets weekly with a vacuum cleaner equipped with a small-particle or HEPA filter.
  • Keep pets out of the bedroom.
  • Use a dehumidifier to reduce indoor humidity.
  • Close doors and windows during pollen season. Use air conditioning (with an allergy-grade filter) in your house and car.

Antihistamines and decongestants are available without prescription and exist in a variety of forms such as liquids, tablets, nasal sprays and eye drops. Antihistamines  work by blocking histamine, a symptom-causing chemical released by the immune system during an allergic reaction. Nasal decongestants narrow the blood vessels in the nose, thereby preventing fluid from leaking and the lining from swelling. They are frequently combined with an antihistamine, a cough suppressant, or an analgesic in treating cold or allergy symptoms. Non-prescription saline nasal sprays will help neutralize symptoms of dry nasal passages or thick nasal mucus.  Other medications can also be prescribed by your doctor such as oral or nasal corticosteroids. 


Sinusitis

Sinusitis is a common medical condition. Acute sinusitis causes the cavities around nasal passages (sinuses) to become inflamed and swollen. The swelling traps mucus in the sinuses and it stops the normal flow of mucus from the sinuses to the back of the throat.

Acute sinusitis is most often caused by the common cold. Other triggers include allergies, such as hay fever which also causes mucous membrane swelling. Bacteria and fungal infections can also trigger sinusitis. Sinusitis that lasts more than 12 weeks, or keeps coming back, is called chronic sinusitis. It can lead to serious infections and other complications. Doctors do not understand exactly what causes chronic sinusitis, but it may follow a viral infection, a severe allergy, or exposure to an environmental pollutant.

Symptoms

Commonly the symptoms of sinus infection are headache, facial tenderness, pressure or pain, and fever. However, only as few as 25% of patients may have fever associated with acute sinus infection. Other common symptoms include cloudy, discolored nasal drainage, a feeling of nasal stuffiness, sore throat, and cough.

Complications

Certain complications may occur following acute sinusitis including asthma flare-ups, chronic sinusitis, meningitis, vision problems or even ear infection.

Prevention

To help reduce the risk of getting acute sinusitis you should minimize contact with people who have colds, wash hands frequently, carefully manage your allergies, avoid cigarette smoke and polluted air, and use a humidifier.

Treatment

The treatment of acute sinusitis is aimed at improving sinus drainage and curing the infection. The treatment depends on the cause. In most cases, home remedies will suffice. Treatment may include the use of saline nasal spray to rinse out nasal passage and help clear sinuses. Oral and topical nasal decongestants, like sprays, may also be used to help relieve nasal congestion due to sinusitis and are generally taken for only a few days. These medications help shrink swollen nasal passages, facilitating the flow of drainage from the sinuses. The use of nasal corticosteroids, and sometimes antibiotics or other prescription medicine may be needed.

Don’t hesitate to consult your doctor in order to have professional advice on the best way to relieve your symptoms.

To make sure Drixoral® products are right for you, always read and follow the label.

Congestion nasale

Partagez sur
nasal_congestion.png

La congestion nasale ou « nez bouché » survient quand les tissus et les vaisseaux sanguins du nez sont gonflés par un excès de liquide. Cet excès de liquide peut-être occasionné par un rhume, la grippe, des allergies à des éléments, comme la poussière, le pollen ou les squames animales, ou encore par une réaction à des irritants, comme la fumée du tabac. Certaines personnes ont le nez constamment congestionné pour aucune raison évidente. On donne à cet état le nom de rhinite non allergique. L'écoulement nasal ou « nez qui coule » accompagne parfois la congestion nasale.

Ignorer les symptômes, comme la congestion, l'éternuement, l'écoulement nasal ou l'épaississement de l'écoulement nasal, peut aggraver les problèmes pulmonaires et entraîner d'autres problèmes. Ainsi, l'atténuation du sens de l'odorat et du goût, l'accroissement du risque d'infections de la bouche et de la gorge ou l'aggravation de l'asthme peut survenir.


Rhume

Définition

En médecine, le terme qu'on emploie pour décrire le rhume est « infection virale des voies respiratoires supérieures ». Le rhume est causé par plus de 200 types de virus différents. Ces virus s'infiltrent dans le corps par la bouche ou le nez, puis ils se propagent par l'intermédiaire des très fines gouttelettes d'air que l'on expulse quand on éternue, quand on tousse ou quand on se mouche. Ils peuvent également se propager par les mains ou par les objets que l'on manipule, comme les serviettes, les jouets ou les téléphones. 

En raison du très grand nombre de virus qui peuvent causer un rhume et des nouveaux virus du rhume qui se développent constamment, le corps n'arrive jamais à développer une résistance contre tous les virus. Par conséquent, le rhume est un problème fréquent et récurrent. En fait, les jeunes enfants peuvent contracter de 6 à 12 rhumes par année, tandis que les adolescents et les adultes en contractent habituellement de 2 à 4 par année. La fréquence des rhumes augmente au cours de l'automne et de l'hiver.

Symptômes

Bien que la plupart des personnes enrhumées se sentent mieux au bout d'une semaine, les symptômes du rhume, soit la toux, le mal de gorge, la congestion nasale, l'écoulement nasal et l'éternuement, durent habituellement de 4 à 14 jours.

Complications

  • Une complication fréquente du rhume chez les enfants est l'otite (infection de l'oreille) qui survient lorsqu’une bactérie ou un virus s'infiltre dans la cavité située derrière le tympan. 
  • Le rhume peut aussi occasionner une respiration sifflante chez les enfants atteints d'asthme.
  • Chez les adultes ou les enfants, un rhume peut éventuellement causer une sinusite, c'est-à-dire une infection inflammatoire des sinus.
  • D'autres infections secondaires, comme la pharyngite streptococcique, la pneumonie, la bronchite chez les adultes et le croup ou la bronchiolite chez les enfants, peuvent aussi survenir.

Traitement ou prévention

Le meilleur moyen de prévenir le rhume, c'est d'éviter les personnes infectées. Il est aussi important de se laver fréquemment les mains pour détruire les virus provenant des surfaces contaminées que l'on a touchées.

Aucun remède ne peut guérir le rhume. Le traitement de base pour le rhume consiste à se reposer et à boire beaucoup de liquides. Pour un soulagement rapide de la congestion nasale, les enfants plus âgés et les adultes peuvent employer un décongestionnant nasal. Les décongestionnants nasaux sont des produits chimiques (comme la pseudoéphédrine, l'oxymétazoline, et autres) qui rétrécissent les vaisseaux sanguins du nez et empêchent ainsi l'écoulement nasal et l'enflure des muqueuses. Grâce à leur action, les muqueuses dégonflent et les voies nasales s'ouvrent. Les décongestionnants nasaux peuvent être administrés par voie topique (p. ex., vaporisateur nasal) ou par voie orale (p. ex., comprimés)


Rhinite allergique

Définition

La rhinite allergique est une affection médicale fréquente. Elle peut nuire aux activités quotidiennes ou même réduire la qualité de vie. Toutefois, contrairement au rhume, la rhinite allergique n'est pas causée par un virus, mais plutôt par une réaction allergique à des allergènes à l'extérieur ou à l'intérieur, comme le pollen, les acariens ou les squames animales. Il existe deux différents types de rhinites allergiques :

  • la rhinite allergique saisonnière dont les symptômes se manifestent ou s'aggravent à un moment précis de l'année et sont déclenchés par le pollen des arbres, l'herbe et les mauvaises herbes qui fleurissent à divers moments; 
  • la rhinite allergique apériodique dont les symptômes sont présents à longueur d'année. Cette rhinite est habituellement causée par une sensibilité aux acariens, squames animales, coquerelles et/ou moisissures. 

Traitement ou prévention

Le mot rhinite est un terme qui décrit les symptômes produits par l'irritation ou l'inflammation nasale. Parmi ces symptômes, il y a le nez qui coule ou qui pique, l'éternuement et le nez bouché en raison d'une congestion nasale. Il y a aussi le larmoiement, parfois abondant, et les démangeaisons oculaires. Ces symptômes surviennent quand on respire un élément allergène.

La quantité de pollen dans l'air peut influer sur le développement des symptômes. Durant les journées froides, humides et pluvieuses, la plupart des pollens sont entraînés au sol. Durant les journées chaudes, sèches et venteuses, l'air a plus tendance à transporter des quantités accrues de pollens.

Complications

La rhinite allergique peut être associée à divers problèmes, dont:

  • une qualité de vie réduite (elle peut nuire à la jouissance de vos activités et vous rendre moins productif; elle peut même entraîner l'absentéisme au travail ou à l'école);
  • un sommeil de mauvaise qualité; 
  • l'aggravation des signes et des symptômes de l'asthme, comme la toux et la respiration sifflante;
  • la sinusite causée par une congestion des sinus soutenue;
  • l'otite moyenne chez les enfants. 

Soulagement des symptômes

Le meilleur moyen de soulager vos symptômes d'allergie consiste à éviter les allergènes qui les occasionnent.  Il est sans doute impossible d'éviter complètement tous les facteurs déclenchants, mais il est possible de réduire les symptômes en prenant certains moyens pour éviter d'y être exposé, notamment:

  • en nettoyant les tapis chaque semaine avec un aspirateur muni d'un filtre à fines particules ou un filtre HEPA;
  • en gardant les animaux domestiques ailleurs que dans la chambre à coucher;
  • en utilisant un déshumidificateur pour réduire l'humidité à l'intérieur de la maison;
  • en gardant les portes et les fenêtres fermées durant la saison du pollen; en utilisant un climatiseur muni d'un filtre antiallergique dans la maison et la voiture.

Il existe aussi des antihistaminiques et des décongestionnants vendus sans ordonnance, et ce, dans les formes les plus variées, c'est-à-dire en liquide, en comprimés, en vaporisateur nasal et en gouttes ophtalmiques. Les antihistaminiques agissent en bloquant l'histamine, le produit chimique sécrété par le système immunitaire durant une réaction allergique qui est responsable des symptômes.  Les décongestionnants nasaux rétrécissent les vaisseaux sanguins du nez et empêchent ainsi l'écoulement nasal et l'enflure des muqueuses. Ils sont fréquemment combinés à un antihistaminique, un antitussif ou à un analgésique pour le traitement des symptômes du rhume et des allergies. Les vaporisateurs nasaux d'eau saline offerts en vente libre aident à neutraliser les symptômes de sécheresse des voies respiratoires ou d'épaississement du mucus nasal.  Il existe également d'autres médicaments que votre médecin peut vous prescrire, comme des corticostéroïdes oraux ou nasaux. 


Sinusite

Définition

La sinusite est une affection médicale fréquente. La sinusite aiguë entraîne l'inflammation et l'enflure des cavités (sinus) qui entourent les fosses nasales. Cette enflure emprisonne le mucus dans les sinus et l'empêche ainsi de s'écouler normalement jusqu'à l'arrière de la gorge.

La cause la plus fréquente de la sinusite aiguë est le rhume. Parmi les autres facteurs déclenchants, mentionnons les allergies, comme le rhume des foins qui occasionne aussi l'enflure des muqueuses. Les bactéries et les infections fongiques (à champignons) peuvent aussi déclencher une sinusite. La sinusite qui dure plus de 12 semaines, ou qui revient constamment, est appelée sinusite chronique. Elle peut entraîner des infections graves et d'autres complications. Les médecins ne comprennent pas exactement ce qui cause la sinusite chronique, mais celle-ci peut survenir à la suite d'une infection virale, d'une allergie grave ou de l'exposition à un polluant de l'environnement.

Symptômes

Les symptômes habituels de l'infection des sinus sont : le mal de tête, une sensibilité, pression ou douleur faciale et la fièvre. Toutefois, seulement environ 25 % des patients peuvent présenter une fièvre associée à une infection aiguë des sinus. Parmi les autres symptômes fréquents, on retrouve aussi l'écoulement nasal trouble et coloré, la sensation de congestion nasale, le mal de gorge et la toux.

Complications

Certaines complications peuvent survenir à la suite d'une sinusite aiguë, y compris une crise d'asthme, une sinusite chronique, une méningite, des troubles de la vue ou même une otite.

Prévention

Pour aider à réduire le risque de sinusite aiguë, il est nécessaire de réduire au minimum les contacts avec les personnes enrhumées. De plus, le lavage fréquent des mains, la gestion soigneuse des allergies, l'évitement de la fumée de cigarette et de l'air pollué, ainsi que l'utilisation d'un humidificateur sont des mesures préventives.

Traitement

Le traitement de la sinusite aiguë vise à améliorer le drainage des sinus et à guérir l'infection. Le choix du traitement dépend de la cause. Dans la plupart des cas, un remède maison suffit. Le traitement peut comprendre l'utilisation d'un vaporisateur nasal d'eau saline pour rincer les voies nasales et aider à dégager les sinus. Les décongestionnants nasaux par voie orale ou topique, comme les atomiseurs, peuvent aussi être utilisés pour soulager la congestion nasale causée par la sinusite et sont généralement administrés pendant quelques jours seulement. Ces médicaments aident à réduire l'enflure des voies nasales, en facilitant le drainage des sinus. L'utilisation de corticostéroïdes nasaux et parfois d'antibiotiques ou d’autres médicaments d'ordonnance peut s'avérer nécessaire.

N'hésitez pas à consulter votre médecin pour obtenir des conseils professionnels sur la meilleure manière de soulager vos symptômes.

Afin d'être certain que les produits Drixoral® vous conviennent, lisez bien l'étiquette et suivez le mode d'emploi.